Jury 2014

A. Composition of the 2014 official jury

For the 2014 edition of the Grand Prix d'Horlogerie de Genève, the jury is composed as follows:

President :

Aurel Bacs, watchmaking and vintage watches expert / Switzerland

Members :

Carlos Alonso, publisher and editor-in-chief of Tiempo de Relojes and director of the Salon Internacional Alta Relojeria / Mexico

Jean-Philippe Arm, editor-in-chief of Watch Around / Switzerland

René Beyer, co-owner and CEO of Beyer Chronometrie AG and of the Watch and Clock Museum in Zurich / Switzerland

Benjamin Clymer, founder and editor-in-chief of Hodinkee / USA

Zhixiang Ding, publisher and editor-in-chief of Chronos China / China

Elizabeth Doerr, freelance specialised watch journalist / Germany

Philippe Dufour, watchmaker / Switzerland

Moritz Elsaesser, watchmaker CW 21, president and owner of Mainly Watches, collector / USA

Dominique Fléchon, historian and expert with the Fondation de la Haute Horlogerie / Switzerland-France

Nick Foulkes, historian, author, contributor to the Financial Times / United Kingdom

John Goldberger, watch collector, author and publisher of books on vintage watches / Italy

Nazanin Lankarani, independent art writer, contributor to the International Herald Tribune and New York Times / France-Iran

Sean Li, watch collector, editor in chief of Revolution Hong Kong and editorial director of watches of Tatler Asia / China

Takeshi Matsuyama, author, history of watch, contributor to the Men's EX /Japan

John Mayer, musician, singer, producer and collector / USA

Paola Pujia, editor-in-chief of Orologi-Le Misure del Tempo / Italy

William Rohr, collector, managing director TimeZone.com, watch expert at Bonhams Auctioneers / Unites States

Abdul Hamied Seddiqi, vice-president of Ahmed Seddiqi & Sons / Dubai

Claude Sfeir, collector, gemologist, jeweler / Lebanon

Antoine Simonin, watchmaker, teacher, former director of Wostep / Switzerland

Michael Tay, Executive director of The Hour Glass Limited / Singapore

Patrick Wehrli, expert, Passion for Watchmaking / Switzerland

Jean-Michel Wilmotte, architect, town-planner, designer / France

Stefano Macaluso, Product development Director of Girard-Perregaux, brand laureate of the 2013 "Aiguille d'Or" Grand Prix, out of competition in 2014. By way of a reminder: the brand that wins the "Aiguille d'Or" Grand Prix is automatically ineligible for the competition the following year, and its founder or CEO is invited to sit on the jury for one year.


B. Jury Commissioners

For the 2014 edition of the Geneva Watchmaking Grand Prix, the commissioners of the jury are:


Patrick König, CEO, Embassy Jewel AG, Lucerne

Ludwig Oechslin, watch expert and former curator, MIH, Musée International d'Horlogerie, La Chaux-de-Fonds


The jury commissioners ensure compliance with the rules and that competing watches meet admission criteria.They serve as consultative role with the jury. They have no voting rights.